Gallery

EMix! Radio New Music for Oct. 17, 2013

New tracks today from:

DJ Cybo, Jungle, Moko, The Mouth of Ghosts and Andrew Ripp.

EMix! Radio is Cool Music.  Commercial Free.  My broadcast is a little on the mellow side and always easy on the senses. Mostly SFW.  It’s great through headphones while you work or while enjoying a rainy afternoon.
Think:  The xx, London Grammar, POLIÇA and Lorde.

Live365

Listen at Live365.com

  • DJ Cybo – “You Are (Echoing On)”

    This is a collection of tracks I’ve worked on as a hobby to coincide with my artwork…all works made in my little room in Brooklyn, and my iPhone as my mic….all music made with the consumption of coffee and tea 🙂
    – Review Credits:  DJ Cybo Soundcloud Page

  • Jungle – “Lucky I Got What I Want”

    The mysterious London duo Jungle, who picked up a lot of blog loving for their first two tracks, Platoon and Drops, have just dropped the b-side to their new single ‘The Heat’. More laid back than their previous efforts ‘Lucky I Got What I Want’ is a slow, looping trip of neo-soul crooning and R&B beats. Check it out below.
    – Review Credits:  Shiny Shiny New

  • Moko – “Honey Cocaine”

    While electronic production works its way into every nook and cranny of current music, a strong voice sometimes becomes less important, especially in pop-leaning music. Vocals are manipulated, masked, and compensated for. London singer Moko’s sound fits in very well with today’s soundscape, but that voice of hers isn’t some sweet pop voice. There is soul and power in it, and even though “Honey Cocaine”—catchy and chorus-centric—isn’t the type of song that necessarily demands a powerful voice, it certainly benefits from it.  Her debut EP, Black, is coming soon.
    – Review Credits:  Pigeons and Planes

  • The Mouth of Ghosts – “Right on Time”

    Another song worth pointing out is “Right On Time.” It opens up with a 30-second intro of vocals and piano; then when you least expect it the bass, guitar, and drums kick in. The transition is so blunt that it stunned me as a listener, but it seems to work perfectly. I would almost say it would make an amazing theme to a spy movie on just the melody and beat alone. Note: for the typical songwriter a bridge may be the most difficult part of a song to compose. This bridge has me lost for words, a very classic rock edge that grabs you right on time. It brought me back in my mind to when I was young, riding with my dad in his old banged-up Ford Courier he’d had since his teens. Quite nostalgic.
    – Review Credits:  Four Culture

  • Andrew Ripp – “Falling for the Beat”

    You know that moment when you see someone across the room and time seems to slow down? That’s the moment singer-songwriter Andrew Ripp captures in his video for Falling for the Beat, premiering at USA TODAY. The whole video seems to take place in a matter of seconds and feels like it ends too soon — just like a good pop song should.
    – Review Credits:  USA Today

Leave a comment